Why stargate and not Farscape?

Discussions about Farscape's cancellation, and the campaign to promote the show's return. General discussion about THE PEACEKEEPER WARS should go in the relevant forum.

Moderators: SunKrux, chryse, Dani Moure, Emeraldcity

Why stargate and not Farscape?

Postby shawz on Sun Jun 05, 2005 11:46 am

Hi there,
I'm new to farscape and I'm amazed at how great a series it is! It was to my obvious dismay that I found out about the cancellization so soon after my discovery of the show.
My main gripe is how can a mediocre show (imho) like Stargate get to nine seasons and a much superior show liks Farscape be canned? Does anyone have some info on what the criteria for keeping shows going is?

Also I've looked for but never seen the exact reason Farscape was stopped put up anywhere on the net. I've been told it was a fairly popular show, so it must not be ratings right? What other reasons could there be? I thought as long as the advertisers are being paid a show is good to go.

Another take I've heard is the Henson comp want more money than sci-fi wanted to pay. But seeing how much Brian Henson loved the show and wanted it to continue this doesnt make much sense to me, unless they just couldnt afford to do te show for what they were being paid anymore, but how did they afford the first four seasons then?
This is all very mystifying. Maybe I misunderstand the natuer of show biz?

Any info is much appreciated. Sorry if this is a repost, but I started feeling like I'd spend the rest of my life searching thru forum posts for these answers so I had to start a new thread for expediency's sake. Thanks for your time!

Farscape rules, :!:
-Sean
shawz
Hoo-man... Lost in Space

Postby Pvt.Stash on Sun Jun 05, 2005 12:45 pm

im much the same as you,found it on "SpaceCast" after the start of the fourth season and instantly became engulfed in its subculture and had all my downloading tools working overtime

my theory is ,,,,,,,